30 BEFORE 30 | MY MAY 2018 GOALS REVIEW

Setting goals and working your ass off to smash them is a key factor to living your best life. I set my 30 things to do before turning 30 because I wanted to make sure I leave my twenties with a bang. One thing’s for sure, I am not taking the view that my life is over when I turn 30. In fact, I want to take more risks, be more adventurous and enjoy every waking moment. So every month, I will be reporting on my progress towards my 30 things to do before 30 list.

I would say accountability is the most important factor to keep you on track. Would you agree? Since sharing my list, people from different walks of life have reached out and given me amazing and encouraging feedback. It has motivated them to start their own list and define what they want for their own lives. And knowing they are reading this is what keeps me motivated, because I love to help others too.

So here is my May goals review. I hope that you can get some inspiration to start your own list, or if you already have one, inspire you to carry on to achieve your goals.

This page contains affiliate links. If you purchase a product through a link on this page, I will receive a commission (which won’t cost you a penny). The only products I endorse are ones I have personally used and benefitted from. Thank you!

HIGHLIGHT OF THE MONTH

The highlight the month was getting my late tax return submitted! It completely went over my head! The other highlight of month was creating my campaign for World Suicide Prevention Day on 10th September 2018 and getting a date and venue booked for my event!! YAY!!

GOALS REVIEW

1. Self Love

Goal: Do what makes me happy, say no to things that don’t make me happy or bring joy.
Result: Speaking positive affirmations daily.
Progress: On track

An ongoing daily process of appreciating who I am. I continue to speak positivity over myself and embrace my flaws. My skin is a nightmare at the moment and I am not sure what is causing the breakout! But, that doesn’t make me love myself any less. In fact, it makes me realise the importance of looking after myself to prevent more spots. Is it stress? Diet? These are the things I consider when it comes to breakouts which makes me more conscious of what I eat and how stressed I get.

2. Volunteer 

Goal: Volunteer my time for a cause I believe in.
Result: Quiz night 18th May
Progress: Complete

On Friday 18th May 2018, I was the Quiz Master for Sienna’s Footsteps. What a night! Although I was tired, I had a really good night and we managed to raise over £1000!! After spending quite some time putting together the quiz, I was glad that it all came together well. Check out the pictures below:

3. Develop my self-confidence 

Goal: Venture out and explore more ways to build my self-confidence.
Result: A Daily boost in confidence evidenced by speaking up and speaking out more.
Progress: On track

In some ways, I feel like confidence can be a hard thing to track, depending on how you perceive confidence. For me, confidence is transitioning all of the amazing thoughts and feelings that happen on the inside and being more outwardly expressive about myself. I guess it’s about having a voice, and that voice getting louder and stronger.

This month, I have attended meetings which have required me to speak out more and put across my opinion/perspective on particular issues in relation to suicide. Also, standing up and delivering a quiz for several hours and engaging an audience was a massive confidence boost.

4. Enhance my public speaking skills

Goal: Go up on stage and speak with bags of confidence.
Result: 5 more opportunities for public speaking.
Progress: On track

During July 2018, I will be doing my first official public speaking engagement and have been asked to do 5 more! Yipee! Having someone believe in me is such a lovely feeling. I am truly humbled and blessed. I am in the process of finalising plans, dates etc. But the next step is to work on what I will say and ensure it is edifying to the audience. My mum is already on board helping me with that!

5. Face challenges & learn what I need to conquer them 

Goal: Face some of the challenges I would usually run from and conquer them.
Result: Challenge identified, public speaking.
Progress: On track

I am currently being coached through the process of public speaking to help me deliver to the best of my ability and conquer public speaking. I suggested sky diving to my mum, she totally freaked out! So I don’t think I will be going down that road…

6. Travel somewhere I have always wanted to go

Goal: To visit a place I have always wanted to go.
Result: Scotland.
Progress: Date- July 2018

I will be visiting Glasgow in July! How exciting! I have also touched base with my aunty and am hoping to plan a trip to Aberdeen to visit the place where my dad grew up. My son keeps talking about China… Hmmm!!

7. Save a little each month to invest in myself 

Goal: Putting a little something aside each month to invest in me.
Result: I have a small savings pot.
Progress: £45 in the pot.

Every time I get paid, I draw out a little bit of money and put it in the pot. This will continue each month. This month I topped it up with £15.

8. Love MY Body 

Goal: Not being too self-critical about my appearance.
Result: I wear what makes me happy!
Progress: Ongoing

I love my body and give thanks for continued health and strength both mentally and physically.

I recite this daily! I try not to wear black but instead, fully embrace colour and I must admit, it does make me feel better about myself. Have you ever thought “I’m going to save this outfit for a special occasion?” Well, I no longer save things! If I want to wear something, I will, because u never know if that special occasion will come to pass. This week, I received a compliment about the colour of my outfit. It must be working!

9. YOGA

Goal: Try it!
Result: I have made inquiries about a local class.
Progress: Not started

In the coming months, I will attend yoga, but have not yet decided where I will go.

10. Put on at least one event

Goal: Put on 1 event.
Result: 1st September 2018
Progress: On track

My event is booked! This will be about empowering people to recognise their purpose and I will be sharing my story on how I got through tought times in my life! Grab your tickets! https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/power-purpose-a-life-worth-living-tickets-46495236504?aff=es2

11. Publish an eBook 

Goal: Write useful life experiences in an eBook.
Result: Decided on eBook subject
Progress: On track

I have decided that I am going to write my eBook at the end of this journey. I will be focussed on goal setting and smashing and my journey. I will start to write this in December 2018.

12. Spend more time with loved ones 

Goal: Spend quality time with friends and family.
Result: Spending more time with people I care about
Progress: On track

This month I have continued to make time for the people who I love and care about. I will continue to spend quality time with friends and family and schedule time in to make this happen. I put a yellow dot on my annual calendar to show when this has happened.

13. Work on my self discipline 

Goal: To give up something I love for 30 days.
Result: n/a
Progress: Not started

On 1/10/2018 I am going to give up something I love for 30 days!

14. Watch less, read more 

Goal: Limit how much TV I am watching and read more books!
Result: Lost my TV remote!
Progress: In progress

I have continued to not watch much TV as I lost the remote! I have looked high and low but I cannot find it ANYWHERE! Part of me thinks I have put it in the rubbissh bin and it is halfway across the country in a landfill! If I don’t find it soon, I am going to have to order another one ?.

15. Silent Rave 

Goal: To attend a silent rave.
Result: Attended Hush Silent Rave
Progress: Completed March 2018

Back in March, I attended a silent rave and boy did I have fun! I went with two of my closest friends and we had a really good time. If you haven’t been to one before, I would highly recommend it! If you follow me on Instagram, you may have already seen my YouTube review. If not, go check it out below.

Would I go again? Watch to find out.

16. Drop out of things I don’t like 

Goal: Drop out of things I really don’t enjoy.
Result: 1 Example
Progress: Ongoing

This month, I have not had anything specific to say ‘I DON’T LIKE’ that I have felt the need to drop out of.

17. Eat what I love 

Goal: Eat what I love and try new foods.
Result: No new foods tried
Progress: On track

I haven’t tried any new foods this month. Although I have continued to eat what I love. We rarely eat red meat in my house but this month we had a lovely leg of lamb. It went down a treat ?.

18. Write a letter to myself and open it on my 40th birthday 

Goal: Write an email or physical letter to myself.
Result: To be completed on 03/03/2019
Progress: n/a

I have decided that I will complete this on my 30th birthday once I have come to the end of the 30 before 30 journey.

19. Do something that scares me

Goal: Identify one of my greatest fears and try and conquer it!
Result: n/a
Progress: n/a

I am in the process of trying to identify a fear! Any suggestions? Skydiving is out.

20. Give people a reason to remember my name

Goal: To help others.
Result: Awareness raising Suicide Prevention and Mental Health
Progress: On track

This month, I have devised a social campaign for suicide prevention which will be out on 10.9.18- World Suicide Prevention day. If you want to know more about this and would like to get involved, please email me info@wideeyedmummy.com. I will be sharing more information in the coming weeks as plans are progressing and more organisations are coming on board.

I have attened the National Suicide Prevention Alliance annal meeting and also The Alliance of Suicide Prevention Charities meeting. I have made some amazing connections with people who have shown nothing but support for what I am doing. Thank you!

21. Pay for a strangers meal or drink

Goal: Pay for a meal or drink when I am next out to dinner or grabbing a coffee from Costa.
Result: n/a
Progress: Not started

I am not sure how I would react if a stranger paid for my drink or meal. This will be interesting.

22. Meet a celebrity

Goal: Meet a celebrity.
Result: n/a
Progress: Not started

I am going to be in the Loose Women Audience on 15th June!! YAAAY!! I am hoping I get the opportunity to meet one of the celebs ands get a picture! Watch this space!

23. Dress in a completely different style for a day 

Goal: Go all out with the lippy, quirky style and dress completely different to my norm.
Result: n/a
Progress: Not started

I am trying to wear more bright colours and not buy clothes that are black. I will most certainly post pictures when I dress in a COMPLETELY different style for a day. I have received a compliment this month about my outfit choice.

24. Do 30 days of something 

Goal: Set a date and make this happen.
Result: Start date 01/08/2018
Progress: n/a

I am trying to work out what I can do for 30 days; vegan for 30 days, workout for 30 days in a row, what do you think? Comment at the end of this post.

25. A public speaking engagement where I share my story 

Goal: Share with an audience my full story and how I have become the person I am today.
Result:
8 pending
Progress:
On track

Plans are in the pipeline. Last month I had 1 pending, now I have 8!! How mad is that… I am honestly overjoyed and excited for what’s to come! Once the event organiser has announced the speakers, I will be able to share. One of the 8 includes my own event.

26. Radio interview

Goal: Radio interview to raise awareness.
Result: 1 interview completed, 1 pending June 2018
Progress: Completed

I was on BBC 3 Counties Radio on the Nana Akua Health Show back in April. I will be on Pamtengo Radio on 5th June discussing mental health on the Real Talk with Simply Deez show… Yay! Tune in on Tuesday 5th June at 8pm.

27. Watch a live sporting event

Goal: Attend a live basketball match.
Result: n/a
Progress: n/a

I need to find and book a live basketball match.

28. Follow my dreams no matter how far they may seem

Goal: Set goals and make my dreams a reality.
Result: Maintaining my blog and social media with positive work
Progress: On track

The whole idea of me setting up Wide Eyed Mummy was to share with the world my experiences, as a means of raising awareness on issues and increasing prevention. By maintaining my blog, putting my videos and content online, I am definitely fulfilling my dream of helping people and will continue to do so. This month I have not written any blog posts as I have been extremely busy with other projects, but during June, I will write at least 2 blog posts.

29. Start a business

Goal: Start a business.
Result: n/a
Progress: n/a

This is a big deal! I have a few business ideas in the pipeline. I will make at least one of them happen, somehow! The only way to make this happen is to start.

30. Plan a 30th birthday celebration to remember! 

Goal: Big 30th birthday celebration.
Result: n/a
Progress: n/a

To enter into my 30th year, I want to celebrate in style. This involves the sunshine, Wray and Nephew and reggae music! There is one place that springs to mind! Jamaica….hmmm?? TBC!

Summary of the Month

The word for this month is elevation. I feel like I am elevating to a different level in my life. New opportunities have come about and I am taking them up! Fear is not stopping me, it is motivating me!

My confidence is growing and I feel that I am helping more and more people, which brings me joy. I can not wait for whats to come. In 3 months, a quarter of the way through, I have achieved so much and I am really pleased with my progress.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Don’t let fear determine your destination!

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to receive your FREE workbook

Download today so you can start planning and achieving your goals

You have Successfully Subscribed!