30 BEFORE 30 | MY JUNE 2018 GOALS REVIEW

Setting goals and working your ass off to smash them is a key factor to living your best life. I set my 30 things to do before turning 30 because I wanted to make sure I leave my twenties with a bang. One thing’s for sure, I am not taking the view that my life is over when I turn 30. In fact, I want to take more risks, be more adventurous and enjoy every waking moment. So every month, I will be reporting on my progress towards my 30 things to do before 30 list.

So here is my June goals review. I hope that you can get some inspiration to start your own list, or if you already have one, inspire you to carry on to achieve your goals.

HIGHLIGHT OF THE MONTH

The highlight of this month was having my story and campaign in the local newspaper. Seventeen years ago there was a different headline written about me and what happened with my dad so I am pleased that Luton News has published the current work I am doing currently. Click here to read the story.

GOALS REVIEW

1. Self Love

Goal: Do what makes me happy, say no to things that don’t make me happy or bring joy.
Result:
I did something for me, I cut my hair!
Progress: On track

This month I wanted to do something for me that would make me feel good about myself, so I cut my hair! I took quite a bit off and it feels so much better. As I’m getting older, I feel like my hair is thinning out a bit and the long straggly hair is not a good look. I literally found a hairdressers and called them that morning and they had a cancellation for 1pm… so thanks Kayleigh the hairdresser for hooking me up!

2. Volunteer 

Goal: Volunteer my time for a cause I believe in.
Result: Quiz night 18th May
Progress: Complete

On Friday 18th May 2018, I was the Quiz Master for Sienna’s Footsteps. What a night! Although I was tired, I had a really good night and we managed to raise over £1000!! After spending quite some time putting together the quiz, I was glad that it all came together well.

3. Develop my self-confidence 

Goal: Venture out and explore more ways to build my self-confidence.
Result: A Daily boost in confidence evidenced by speaking up and speaking out more.
Progress: On track

In some ways, I feel like confidence can be a hard thing to track, depending on how you perceive confidence. For me, confidence is transitioning all of the amazing thoughts and feelings that happen on the inside and being more outwardly expressive about myself. I guess it’s about having a voice, and that voice getting louder and stronger.

This month, I have posted more videos on Instagram. I want people to see the real me and be able to step into my life for a moment. I also cut my hair and have hardly worn black. A real achievement for plain old me.

4. Enhance my public speaking skills

Goal: Go up on stage and speak with bags of confidence.
Result: 21st July 1st Public speaking engagement
Progress: On track

On 21st July 2018, I will be doing my first official public speaking engagement. Having someone believe in me is such a lovely feeling. I am truly humbled and blessed that Jess @TheFatFunnyOne has asked me to speak at her event. Watch this space!

5. Face challenges & learn what I need to conquer them 

Goal: Face some of the challenges I would usually run from and conquer them.
Result: Challenges identified, public speaking, regular exercise.
Progress: On track

I am currently being coached through the process of public speaking to help me deliver to the best of my ability and conquer public speaking. I have also picked exercise as a challenge as I often say that I do not have enough time. I will make more time in July to ensure I fit some exercise into my weekly routine. I have signed up for Pure Gym- let’s see if this can motivate me to get moving more. On my wall calendar, I will mark out how many days I have managed to exercise.

6. Travel somewhere I have always wanted to go

Goal: To visit a place I have always wanted to go.
Result: Scotland.
Progress: Date- September/October 2018

I will be visiting Scotland in either September/October 2018. How exciting! I have touched base with my aunty and am hoping to plan a trip to Aberdeen to visit the place where my dad grew up. My son keeps talking about China, which i’ve looked into this a bit more but I will need quite a bit more money to make this happen.

7. Save a little each month to invest in myself 

Goal: Putting a little something aside each month to invest in me.
Result: I have a small savings pot.
Progress: £55 in the pot.

Every time I get paid, I draw out a little bit of money and put it in the pot. This will continue each month. This month I topped it up with £10.

8. Love MY Body 

Goal: Not being too self-critical about my appearance.
Result: I wear what makes me happy!
Progress: Ongoing

I love my body and give thanks for continued health and strength both mentally and physically.

Have you ever looked in the mirror and thought- Oh no…. I used to do this quite a lot before but now, I couldn’t care less. I always try to put myself together well but size and weight is NOT something I will allow to dictate my life. HELL NO! I want to enjoy each and every day and not deprive myself of things because I am not happy with how I look.

9. YOGA

Goal: Try it!
Result: I have made inquiries about a local class.
Progress: Not started

In the coming months, I will attend yoga, but have not yet decided where I will go.

10. Put on at least one event

Goal: Put on 1 event.
Result: 1st September 2018
Progress: On track

My event is booked! This will be about empowering people to redefine their purpose and I will be sharing my story on how I got through tough times in my life! Grab your tickets. I will also be raising money for Samaritans on the day and have approached lots of organisation for raffle prizes. This month BMW & Costa sponsored a prize. I will be reaching out to more organisations in July to get more sponsored prizes.

11. Publish an eBook

Goal: Write useful life experiences in an eBook.
Result: Decided on eBook subject
Progress: On track

I have decided that I am going to write my eBook at the end of this journey. It will be focussed on goal setting and smashing and my 30 before 30 journey. I will start to write this in December 2018.

12. Spend more time with loved ones 

Goal: Spend quality time with friends and family.
Result: Spending more time with people I care about
Progress: On track

This month I have continued to make time for the people who I love and care about. I will continue to spend quality time with friends and family and schedule time in to make this happen. I put a yellow dot on my annual calendar to show when this has happened.

13. Work on my self discipline 

Goal: To give up something I love for 30 days.
Result: n/a
Progress: Not started

On 1/10/2018 I am going to give up something I love for 30 days! I’m thinking chocolate… (crying)

14. Watch less, read more 

Goal: Limit how much TV I am watching and read more books!
Result: Purchased new book
Progress: In progress

Last month, I reported that I had lost my TV remote so hadn’t watched much TV, because I couldn’t! I officially have a new TV remote but am happy to say I have not watched much TV at all. I have invested in a new book… and it is awesome! Jessica Huie – Purpose. Grab a copy.. you wont regret it.

15. Silent Rave 

Goal: To attend a silent rave.
Result: Attended Hush Silent Rave
Progress: Completed March 2018

Back in March, I attended a silent rave and boy did I have fun! I went with two of my closest friends and we had a really good time. If you haven’t been to one before, I would highly recommend it! If you follow me on Instagram, you may have already seen my YouTube review. If not, go check it out below.

Would I go again? Watch to find out.

16. Drop out of things I don’t like 

Goal: Drop out of things I really don’t enjoy.
Result: 2 Examples
Progress: Ongoing

In June, I had 4 consecutive days of not doing any work. The weather has been SO hot recently and after a long hot day at my day job, the last thing I wanted to do was more work! So I didn’t do any even though I knew I had lots to do. Physically I needed to rest and that’s exactly what I did. I feel so much better for it!

17. Eat what I love 

Goal: Eat what I love and try new foods.
Result: No new foods tried
Progress: On track

I haven’t tried any new foods this month. Although I have continued to eat what I love. In July, I want to try something new again.

18. Write a letter to myself and open it on my 40th birthday 

Goal: Write an email or physical letter to myself.
Result: To be completed on 03/03/2019
Progress: n/a

I have decided that I will complete this on my 30th birthday once I have come to the end of the 30 before 30 journey.

19. Do something that scares me

Goal: Find something that scares me and conquer my fear!
Result: Running a 10k Love Luton Race on 28.10.18
Progress: Start training in September

This month I signed up to run the Love Luton 10K race and am raising money for Samaritans. After signing up, I had a revelation that put everything into perspective. On the day that my dad passed, I ran and ran to get help and now I am running to raise money so more people get they help they need before it’s too late. I know it will feel emotional when I am running but it will most certainly be rewarding. If you want to sponsor me, please click here. The money goes directly to Samaritans.

20. Give people a reason to remember my name

Goal: To help others.
Result: Awareness raising Suicide Prevention and Mental Health
Progress: On track

This month, my campaign became a reality and is now available at www.onitshead.co.uk. I created a landing page to get as many people on board with the campaign as possible. I have 86 people signed up! But I still need to get more people on board. Please sign up or share the web address with others you may think would be willing to sign up. If you wish to sponsor my suicide awareness campaign, please click here.

As part of my campaign, I filmed a short intro video for the landing page. This helped boost my self confidence because I was in the middle of the forest in the middle of the day and there were a few people around. I had to maintain my cool and remain focussed!

The Mall Luton have been very supportive with my campaign and I will be having a stand at Central Square on World Suicide Prevention day 10.9.18. A special and ongoing thanks to Lavinia Douglass who has been extremely supportive and very kind. xx

Lavinia Douglass – The Mall Luton

21. Pay for a strangers meal or drink

Goal: Pay for a meal or drink when I am next out to dinner or grabbing a coffee from Costa.
Result: n/a
Progress: Not started

I am not sure how I would react if a stranger paid for my drink or meal. This will be interesting.

22. Meet a celebrity

Goal: Meet a celebrity.
Result: Going to an event in July and Jamelia will be there.
Progress: Not started

I am going to a motherhood event in July and Jamelia will be attending so I am hoping to be able to speak to her on the day. It will be good to meet a real life Celebrity and tick this one off the list!

23. Dress in a completely different style for a day 

Goal: Go all out with the lippy, quirky style and dress completely different to my norm.
Result: Blogtacular event
Progress: Complete

I am trying to wear more bright colours and not buy clothes that are black. I went to Blogtacular this month and I tried my best to incorporate bright colours. I have never worn pink lipstick during the day! It’s amazing how adding colour to your life adds a streak of confidence.

I learnt so much at the event which I am trying to implement with my blog. I would recommend a blogging event for anybody that is trying to venture out into the world of blogging to find out what it really entails.

 

24. Do 30 days of something 

Goal: Set a date and make this happen.
Result: Start date 01/08/2018
Progress: n/a

I am trying to work out what I can do for 30 days; vegan for 30 days, workout for 30 days in a row, what do you think? Comment at the end of this post.

25. A public speaking engagement where I share my story 

Goal: Share with an audience my story and how I have become the person I am today.
Result:
8 pending
Progress:
On track

Plans are in the pipeline. My first public speaking engagement will be in London on 21st July 2018.

Bubbly & Body Love presents Motherhood & Mental Health / London @ 6.30pm.

Click below for more information and tickets!

26. Radio interview

Goal: Radio interview to raise awareness.
Result: 2 interviews completed
Progress: Completed

  1. BBC 3 Counties Radio on the Nana Akua Health Show back in April.
  2. Pamtengo Radio on 5th June discussing mental health on the Real Talk with Simply Deez

On 5th June I was on Pamtengo Radio talking about suicide and raising awareness on what Samaritans do. It is so important to talk about yourself for good mental health and I hope by me sharing my story, more people will feel empowered to talk up.

27. Watch a live sporting event

Goal: Attend a live basketball match.
Result: I have spoken to a friend who plays basketball and I’m currently waiting for a date.
Progress: n/a

I need to find and book a live basketball match.

28. Follow my dreams no matter how far they may seem

Goal: Set goals and make my dreams a reality.
Result: Maintaining my blog and social media with positive work
Progress: On track

The whole idea of me setting up Wide Eyed Mummy was to share with the world my experiences, as a means of raising awareness on issues and increasing prevention. Last month I set a goal to complete 2 blog posts in June. I am happy to say I DID IT! I wrote 2 blog posts in June. Check out my home page to see what they were about.

29. Start a business

Goal: Start a business.
Result: n/a
Progress: n/a

I have been pondering on this and trying not to stress myself out. I am hoping I can make this happen but I need to really think about what I can offer that people may be willing to pay for.

30. Plan a 30th birthday celebration to remember! 

Goal: Big 30th birthday celebration.
Result: n/a
Progress: n/a

To enter into my 30th year, I want to celebrate in style. This involves the sunshine, Wray and Nephew and reggae music! There is one place that springs to mind! Jamaica….hmmm?? TBC!

Summary of the Month

This month the word ‘destination’ has been on my radar. I have decided that I am not trying to get to a destination in my life,  I am trying to be on a journey and stop off on different islands, a bit like a cruiseship. A destination is too final for me.

Whatever comes in your path, embrace it and use it to guide your journey. Even if you fall down, turn around and get back up again and enjoy the rest of your life.

Thanks for reading 🙂

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to receive your FREE workbook

Download today so you can start planning and achieving your goals

You have Successfully Subscribed!